Social Bookmarking / Citation Tools

Social Bookmarking isn’t new, but there are so many products on the market I do get asked what advantages do they offer over professional referencing software such as Endnote.

So here is what I have gathered from personal use and other people’s opinions.  I think it would be great if you have anything to add or share with us please add your comments.

Social Citation allows you to:

•Drop in resources from sites you have been browsing on the web and from other users libraries and add to your own
•Network with other students / researchers
•Build collaborative collections of resources
•Use tags to browse other researchers libraries
•Use in conjunction with other web 2.0 tools such as RSS to add resources to a blog or website


Recommends articles to you, when you have built up a picture of your own references.
Easy to copy references from other people.
Used mostly by scientists
Can share journal articles, web links, book, any documents
Can import/export to Endnote.
Has bookmarking buttons for your browser

Automates Bookmarking
Groups feature – makes collaboration easy.
You can keep bookmarks private or share them.
Annotation and highlight feature.
Allows you to share what you have found with others via Twitter, blogs etc.
Everything on Diigo is there because someone has thought it’s worth saving

Allows you to organise your references and pdf’s
Creates Bibliographies
One of the more academic Social Bookmarking tools

Uses an integrated Firefox extention in browser
Integrates with word and open office to build bibliographies.
Comes preloaded with major citation styles.
Groups function allows you to collaborate and share
File storage space for you to save word, pdf or image files.
Great for importing references from non traditional sources like wikis

Over to you – what do you think?

5 Responses to Social Bookmarking / Citation Tools

  1. Thanks for this. It is something I have been using. Here is a CiteULike library I use to store information for students http://www.citeulike.org/group/14348/library It’s great for bundling links to post in a Learning Central forum.
    And I have blogged about some ups and downs with some social bookmarking tools. My attitude now is to just model use of the tools to students.
    http://wishfulthinkinginmedicaleducation.blogspot.com/2010/09/my-experience-using-social-bookmarking.html

    Thanks again!

  2. I’m a graduate student and I fell in love with Mendeley. I hated the disorganized pile of PDFs that I would have left after every assignment, and not way to efficiently find older papers I had used, so often I would download them again in another place.

    I also really like diigo too, more sophisticated than delicious, and useful.

    The others I can’t really speak to, but am sure they could be useful too.

  3. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by AnneMarie Cunningham, James Giles. James Giles said: RT @amcunningham: Nice to see our university library blogging about social bookmarking/citation tools! 🙂 http://is.gd/Oafzpj […]

  4. Anne Marie Cunningham says:

    Thanks Robert,

    I had a few initial hiccups with mendeley which made me stop using it. I now store PDFs in Dropbox, and annotate them with tfe free Foxit reader. Not just as elegant a solution but it works!

    AM

  5. Dean Jenkins says:

    I’ve been using Zotero for some time now and find it very useful indeed. I have access to references wherever I am working and it translates them into numerous formats.

    Also, when I add a citation to my Zotero collection I’ve got it to automatically broadcast to my Twitter account so that others can see that I’m doing something useful with my time!

Leave a Reply

